Valorant – Game Modes, Characters, System Requirements, Size, And Much More

Among Us Crosshair Valorant

Valorant is a free-to-play first-person multiplayer shooter for windows developed and published by Riot Games. In October 2019, the game was first teased under the codename Project A. On April 7, 2020, it began a closed beta period with limited access, followed by an official release on June 2, 2020. In 2014, the game’s development began.

Valorant is a first-person shooter influenced by the Counter-Strike tactical shooter series with a team-based multiplayer mode set in the near future. Players have to play as agents who are based in several countries and cultures all around the world.

You are assigned as attackers or defenders with each team having five players on it. All the agents have different abilities which you can buy before the round starts. Moreover, there is an ultimate ability that requires charging through kills, orbs, or deaths. 

First-round always starts with the classic pistol and signature ability. There are a total of 17 guns to choose from in the game, each with its own set of strengths and stats. Sidearms, SMGs, shotguns, rifles, snipers, and heavy weapons are all available. 

For attackers, the main objective is to plant the spike and for defenders, their only aim is to defuse the spike before it explodes.

Everything You Need to Know About Valorant

Valorant Characters


In the game, you can choose from a wide range of playable agents. Duelists, Sentinels, Initiators, and Controllers are the four types of agents. Each agent has a distinct role that reflects how the character is typically portrayed. 

Currently, there are 17 agents in valorant. They are Brimstone, Omen, Viper, Cypher, Sova, Sage, Jett, Phoenix, Raze, Breach, Reyna, Killjoy, Skye, Yoru, Astra, KAY/O, and Chamber. Each agent gets an ability that they can use for free in each round. 


Specialized in attacking and entering the site for the team. They create space for their team while entering the site. Their abilities consist of flashes, dashes, smokes, etc. 

Duelists include Jett, Phoenix, Reyna, Raze, Yoru.


Initiators are experts at breaking through enemy defenses. Initiators’ abilities can include flashes as well as abilities that reveal enemy locations. This information allows attackers where enemies are hidden. 

Initiators include Sova, Skye, Breach, KAY/O.


Controllers are used to create space on the site. Their abilities include smokes, slows, flashes stuns, etc. With smoke, they can cover the main angles where there might be an enemy. 

Controllers include Brimstone, Omen, Viper, Astra.


They are the defensive line, which is specialized in locking down sites and protecting teammates. Their ability consists of heals, orbs, alarm bot, etc. These objects can give valuable information to the team. 

Sentinels include Sage, Killjoy, Cypher, Chamber.

About Valorant Gameplay/ Game Modes

There are currently 7 different game modes that you can choose from. They are Unrated, Competitive, Spike Rush, Deathmatch, Escalation, Replication, and Snowball fight. 


This is the standard non-ranked mode. You don’t have to worry about your rank in this mode whether you win or lose. The first team clearing 13 rounds wins the match. The Spike is a bomb-like device used by the attacking team. 

They must deliver and activate the Spike at one of the several locations specified. The attacking team receives a point if they successfully protect the activated Spike for 45 seconds before it detonates, destroying everything in a specific area. 

The defending team receives a point if they can deactivate the spike or if the 100-second round timer runs out without the attacking team activating the spike. If both teams win 12 rounds then the next round decides the winner. 

Spike Rush

The match is played in the Spike Rush mode as a best-of-seven round format, with the first team to win four rounds winning the match. Except for their ultimate, which charges twice as fast as in standard games, players begin the round with all abilities fully charged. 

A spike is carried by every player on the attacking team, but only one spike can be activated per round. Every round, the guns are randomized, and each player starts with the same gun. In the standard game, there are no ultimate point orbs, but there are multiple power-up orbs.


Competitive matches are like unranked matches. You must first win 10 unrated matches before participating in competitive games.

If both teams win 12-12 in this mode then additional rounds are played named “overtime”, until a team claims victory. Your ranks are based on these matches. The competitive ranking system ranges from Iron to Radiant. Every rank except for Radiant has 3 tiers.


In a deathmatch, there are total14 players who compete in a 9-minute free-for-all match. Players start with a random agent, and during the match, all abilities are disabled, allowing for pure gunplay.


Introduced on 17 Feb 2021. The gamer will choose 12 weapons at random to move through. A team must get a certain number of kills to advance to the next weapon, and the weapons get progressively worse as the team progresses through them, as in other gun game versions. 

If one team successfully completes all 12 levels, or if one team is on a higher level than the opposing team within 10 minutes, that team wins.


Introduced on May 11, 2021. Players vote on which agent they want to play during the agent selection. The game selects one of the player’s votes at random at the end of the time limit, or after everyone has voted. Even if one of the players hasn’t unlocked that agent, the entire team will play as that agent. 

The game is played in a best-of-nine format, with the players switching sides after the fourth round. With a predetermined number of credits, players can purchase guns and shields. Capabilities are pre-purchased. Every round, weapons and shields are reset.

Snowball Fight

Introduced on 15 December 2020. The game mode is Team Deathmatch, and the goal is to get 50 kills to win. Players are not allowed to use abilities, and they spawn as random agents. The snowball launcher is the only weapon available; it is a quick kill, but slow, and uses a projectile-based arc. There is an endless supply of ammunition.

Is Valorant Free? Where do I Download Valorant?

You can easily download Valorant through Riot’s official website. It is available for free of cost. Valorant is also available on Epic games.

  • To download the game, all you need is a Riot account. If you don’t have it, you can create it by clicking here.
  • After creating an account, you’ll be assigned to your region. 
  • Download the game.
  • After downloading, install the game.
  • Now, open the client by double-clicking on the VALORANT icon on the desktop. 
  • Sign in with your riot account and start playing the game. 

Valorant System Requirements and Game Size

The approximate size of the game is 16GB. As per the developer, Valorant may not require a dedicated graphics card, but you should consider the minimum requirements to play it smoothly.

  • OS:64-bit Windows 7/8/10
  • RAM: Minimum 4 GB. 
  • CPU: Intel i3 or higher. 
  • GPU: Intel HD 3000 (1 GB VRAM)

Valorant on PS4/Xbox?

As of now, Valorant is available for PC only and there is no news if they release on controllers or not. For now, enjoy the game on windows.

Chris Evan was born in Quebec and raised in Montreal, except for the time when he moved back to Quebec and attended high school there. He studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto. He began writing after obsessing over books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.