Taekwondo Belt Color Order with Each Belt Meaning in Detail

Taekwondo belts meaning-black belt

The Taekwondo Belt Grading System in Order of Colour

In order to know about the Taekwondo belts meaning, we must know why there are different belt levels.

Grading or ranking is the act to classify something on a scale by quality, rank, etc and it has been an important part for all of us.

Similarly, Taekwondo belt grading is important for all the students of Taekwondo. In terms of taekwondo, the word”grading” means a promotion or to level up the belt(in series which starts from white and ends up at black color).

This shows the progress of a student. Moreover, belt rank in taekwondo sport evaluates one’s ability, knowledge, and physical conditioning.

If you are a new taekwondo player or ever visited any martial arts institution, you might have noticed that there is diversity in belt colors as students wear a variety of belts. The range of belts can be confusing for a new taekwondo player, but this is taekwondo belt grading, and it shows the ranking of different taekwondo players that help to differentiate from junior to senior and much more.

How many belts are there in Taekwondo?

There are six main belts in taekwondo according to the World Taekwondo(aka WTF). However, it may vary from country to country or Federations.

What is the order of belts in taekwondo?

The belt order consists of a taekwondo belt chart which is;

  • White
  • Yellow
  • Green
  • Blue
  • Red and
  • Black;

These are the six main belts in taekwondo and there are deep philosophy and meaning behind each color belt in taekwondo. I have mentioned below all the taekwondo belts and their meanings in order of color.

Taekwondo belts meaning in detail:

1. White belt

The white belt in Taekwondo is the symbol of innocence. There is not any test or exam to qualify for the white belt. A white belt in taekwondo signifies the beginning of a seed. Also, it shows the beginning of a student who is new to taekwondo and has no previous knowledge about taekwondo.

Thus, everyone who is new to taekwondo starts with the white belt. This belt is not earned and hence there are no steps to get white belt rank.

You will learn the basic components of taekwondo as a white belt such as blocking, stretching, kicking, basic stances, etc, and some Korean terms such as numbers count, names of kicks, blocks, and many more.

It doesn’t take too much time to learn all these but to be perfect in all kicks, stances, poomsae, etc, it can take years.

The journey of forms (poomsae or patterns) starts from here. You will learn the combination of patterns( These are the combined series of techniques that you learned). There are several patterns for each belt.

Usually, in two or three months, an individual proceeds to the yellow belt after learning the basics of taekwondo.

2. Yellow belt

Yellow is the color of sunshine and freshness. A yellow belt in taekwondo signifies the first beam of sunlight and the earth when a plant sprouts a root. It shows that the taekwondo foundation is being laid. The yellow belt is not given to anyone in starting, so you can say that you earned this belt by qualifying the belt test.

Being a yellow belt student;

  • you will refine the techniques that you learned as a white belt.
  • The combination of moves i.e poomsae will be more complex as compared to the poomsae you learned as a white belt student.
  • You will continue to improve your old skills as well as learn new skills.

3. Green belt

Basically, Green is the color of nature and it symbolizes growth, freshness, and fertility. But in Taekwondo, the green belt signifies the growth of a seed that is ready to grow into a plant.

Being a green belt student, you will make yourself stronger as well as continue to refine your techniques.

4. Blue belt

Being a blue belt student, you have passed the half test for a black belt.

Moreover, the meaning of the Blue belt in taekwondo is the significance of the sky which means that the plant is continuously growing towards it. It shows that the student is keeping growing until and unless he does mastery in his art.

A blue belt student is taught some additional knowledge of Taekwondo martial art in order to continue to grow and develop his mind and body.

Generally, it takes six to seven months to get an advanced rank in the blue belt.

5. Red belt

The red belt in Taekwondo is the color that represents energy, danger, determination, and passion. The red belt signifies danger. It is the beginning of a student to become dangerous with his/her knowledge and abilities.

As a red belt student acquires more knowledge, he/she should be more careful to avoid problems or dangers.

6. Black belt

The black belt is the opposite of the white belt and is the combination of all the colors of the spectrum of the rainbow. It signifies the darkness beyond the sun and the maturity of a taekwondo player.

Moreover, a black belt has a high rank and it is really hard to get a black belt in taekwondo. Being a black belt student, you are capable of teaching other students and continue yourself to learn and achieve skills and reach new levels.

Now, you remember the challenges you faced in your journey from being a white belt student to a black belt student and how these challenges don’t seem that difficult anymore. The lessons you learned in your journey are very important.

What comes after the Black belt?

There are more belts after the black belt in taekwondo that come in series from black belt 1 dan to black belt 9 dan but the main belts are only six that are mentioned above. But still, some people have the misconception that there is a purple belt in Taekwondo. 

Most people aim to get the black belt as a taekwondo student. Some of them practice a lot to get it and some leave-in middle.

The highest taekwondo grading of the belt is black belt 9 dan.

How long does each belt take in TaeKwonDo and how to achieve all these belts?

Generally, students have a taekwondo belt grading test every 3-6 months where they have to perform patterns and several tests and after each color belt test, a certificate is given.

Can you skip belts in Taekwondo?

Yes, you can skip the belt test in taekwondo and can directly get the Black belt only if you have previous experience in Taekwondo sport. But the belt test will be very hard.


Belts are not awarded to students for practicing in hours or participation in contests such as state and national championships but to get an advanced rank in taekwondo, a student has to demonstrate his skills and should prove that he has mastered all the techniques he learned till now.

There is no doubt that the taekwondo techniques seem simple but it takes years to master the techniques.

Taekwondo belts meaning for each color indicates the skill level of a taekwondo player and shows the ranking of a player. It differentiates junior to senior. The taekwondo belt color order reflects the progress of a student in the class and endurance level of the sportsman.

Avatar of Steve

Got stuck in a game? Don't worry, I am here to solve all your queries and give you some hacks about your favorite game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.